Brahms' First Symphony

Brahms' First Symphony

The final concert of our Classical series opens with a light Suppé overture and closes with the profound First Symphony of Brahms, which he composed over the course of 21 years. Jennifer Koh solos in the 2nd Violin Concerto of Bartók, an example of his "verbunkos style" which evokes features of Hungarian folk music.

Carlos Kalmar, conductor
Jennifer Koh, violin

Suppé: Overture to The Beautiful Galathea
• Bartók: Violin Concerto No. 2
Brahms: Symphony No. 1

 Program Notes …
  Carlos' Comments (video) …

Classical Series Concert
in these Season Ticket packages:
Classical B Saturday
Classical B Sunday
Classical B Monday
Classical A+B Full Saturday
Classical B+C Full Sunday
Classical A+B Full Monday