Saint-Saëns & Shostakovich

Saint-Saëns & Shostakovich

Hannu Lintu conducts the Portland premiere of Shostakovich's final symphony, which was written in 1971. The Night on Bald Mountain is performed in Mussorgky's original orchestration, and Benjamin Schmid returns to Portland for the last violin concerto of Saint-Saëns, written in 1880.

Hannu Lintu, conductor
Benjamin Schmid, violin

Mussorgsky: Night on Bald Mountain
(original version)
• Saint-Saëns: Concerto for Violin No. 3
Shostakovich: Symphony No. 15

 Program Notes …

  Carlos' Comments (video) …

Classical Series Concert
in these Season Ticket packages:
Classical B Saturday
Classical C Sunday
Classical B Monday
Classical A+B Full Saturday
Classical B+C Full Sunday
Classical A+B Full Monday